Google+
ITS and UVa logos for printed output

OneDrive (Office 365)

OneDrive File Sharing

UPN Change on May 17 Will Affect Office 365 Document Sharing

On May 17, 2018, ITS is changing the User Principal Name (UPN) for UVA Gmail users, HSTS, Law, McIntire, and Darden Office 365 tenant users. Prior to May 17, 2018, when receiving files from users of the ITS-provided Office 365 tenant via OneDrive, SharePoint Online, Groups, or Teams, users in the above groups would normally sign in using userid@eservices.virginia.edu and their Eservices password.

Starting May 17, users in the above groups should sign in using userid@virginia.edu and their Eservices account password (no change), to access these shared files.

If a user who does not have an account on the ITS-provided Office 365 tenant has trouble accessing a shared document, or accessing links to Groups or Teams, that they were able to prior to May 17, 2018, the person on the ITS-provided Office 365 tenant who shared the document with them may need to share the document with the user again.

File Sharing: Internal vs. External

OneDrive supports sharing with both internal (UVA) and external (outside the University) users. See below for a simple guide with screenshots to help you determine whether your sharing will be internal or external.

  • After clicking on the "Share" tab, if you pick the user from the directory by typing their name as shown in the screenshot below, you are selecting an internal user account and the user will need to use their @virginia.edu account to access the shared document.

    picture of people picker
  • After adding an internal user, the dialog box will look like this:

    picture of people picker after choosing person to share with
  • Users who are external will not show up in the People Picker, so you will need to type their full email address in order to share with them. After adding them, you will see a warning that they are outside your organization, as shown in the screenshot below:

    picture of people picker after choosing an outside person to share with
  • Any time you see the 'outside of your organization' warning, you will know that the user is external, and will need to use a code to access the shared content.

  Page Updated: Thursday 2018-05-17 10:33:44 EDT